Monthly Wrap Ups

June Wrap Up // basking in five star glory

Fun fact: June does not in fact have 31 days. And apparently the 31st day didn’t just disappear… it never existed!! Who woulda thunk *shrug.* I don’t know how I made it this far in life without knowing that, but I’m blaming this mix up on my fuzzy summer brain.

Soo reading! June was a pretty solid month for me. Not only did I read a small bucketful of books, but the vast majority of them were four and five star reads. And even then I had an all time high of five five-star reads! So yay for that!! Let’s break it down, shall we??

4 🌟Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

my god

4 🌟 Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar

the sapphic fake dating book of DREAMS

4.5 🌟 Off the Record by Camryn Garrett

everything about it? Yes yes and yes

5 🌟Heartstoppers Volume 1 by Alice Oseman (x2)

asdgcjafhsfcbdhdjc

5 🌟Heartstoppers Volume 2 by Alice Oseman (x2)

I LOVE IT

5 🌟Heartstoppers Volume 3 by Alice Oseman (x2)

 i think I’m gonna cry but I don’t know of happy or sad tears

5 🌟Heartstoppers Volume 4 by Alice Oseman (x2)

ok this series has currently commandeered by faves of 2021 list

No rating🌟Solitaire by Alice Oseman

hello feelings, thank you for destroying me 

5 🌟 We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This by Rachel Lynn Solomon

I know no one actually eats the wedding cake, but i might need to stuff my face with some to emotionally recover from that roller coaster 

4 🌟 It Goes Like This by Miel Moreland

 FRIENDSHIP!

4 🌟 Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

why did i think the band was real for literally half of the book

4 🌟 The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe

the writing screams contemporary but the plot screams thriller and everything happening made me want to scream

4 🌟Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur

astrology, fake dating, joy

3 🌟 Hang the Moon by Alexandria Bellefleur

I was doing so well until I realized man was a ginger… i can’t take this seriously

4 🌟 Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

Read it. Read it now. 

Wow, looking back at it I’m realising I wrote a lot this month. Mostly chaotic ramblings and lists, but still, a lot. I do love writing reviews, but it was fun to kind of go outside the box and work on some random ideas that popped into my head. I do hope to write some more reviews as the summer goes on, but you never know, I think the random feature-y posts are here to stay.

Making TBRs? Fun. Following them? Not a chance. Doesn’t stop me from making them though. I actually ended up reading 3/8 of the books on the list, so I feel like I deserve a participation metal at least.

Check out the full list here!

The sunshine + grumpy trope is an underrated by favourite trope of mine. Something about the dynamic about these characters with two very different takes on life is just positively golden.

Sound like your cup of tea? Check out some trope-tastic recs here!

It’s fair to say that I have a ~complicated~ relationship with love triangles. As evidenced by the 1k+ work posts (read: rant) I wrote about them.

To what extent do you like love triangles?? I’d love to chat about it with you!! Feel free to check out the full post here!

The answer?? Pretty obsessed. Still, it was fun to listen to the word of the Buzzfeed gods as I took the quiz!

Also shoutout to the lovely people who did me a HUGE solid by filling out the feedback form!! I appreciate your time and your suggestions, and am working towards incorporating them into my blog!

Check out the full post here!!

I don’t know how or why I came up with this, but I did and I’m lowkey obsessed with how it turned out. It was wacky, it was fun, it was admittedly a bit strange.

Check out these geese-tastic 10 second reviews here!

My mind was a muddled mess after reading this book. It had the absolute audacity to make me feel feelings. Can you believe it??

The review of Solitaire was basically the only serious thing I wrote this month. You can find it here!

A Vow So Bold and Deadly made me angry. Angry enough to write a somewhat ranting review and then let it stew in my draft folder for months.

June was the month where I finally dusted it off and posted it. If you are in the mood to read a review featuring rage, gifs, and just utter chaos I’d recommend checking out this post here!

This is your friendly reminder to read queer stories year round, not just during pride. If you need a good place to start, never fear there are tons of recommendation lists out there including this one!

This should come as a surprise to absolutely no one, but I wrote another midnight rambling!! Whoooooo-ho! Love dealing with customers SO much.

Want to hear my top five picks for weirdest things customers have actually told me?? Plus book recs to match. I got you… here ya go!

As per usual, there is so much fantastic bookish content being created everyday within the blogosphere. Soo you know what time it is! Let’s highlight some of my favourites of the month and take a moment to appreciate all of these lovely bloggers!

It is no secret that I love pirates! And oceanic settings are no exception to that pirating umbrella! Loved Rachel’s post with these amazing recs with oceanic settings!

Do you know what brings me joy? When people get joy from books that I also love. I was over the moon excited to see that Raina @ Raina’s Rambling Reads loved Perfect on Paper. Check out her review here!

Allison @ Allison in Bookland shared 5 tips to make your bookstagram account more accessible. Highly recommend checking these out if you have an account or are thinking about making one.

Hal @ Hal’s Reading Life matches queer 2021 releases with your zodiac sign. Loved this post and was excited to see so many books I’ve loved and anticipated releases on the lists!

Rosina @ Lace and Dagger Books shared some bookstagram tips and tricks. Loved the tips and wish I knew a bunch of them before I was started out.

Ahaana @ Windows to Worlds wrote such a heartfelt discussion post with her top 12 favourite adult books and what they meant. There is such joy radiating out of Ahaana’s words, seriously, go check it out.

Jayati @ It’s Just a Coffee Addicted Bibliophile wrote a post about why queer books matter along with 4 other queer book bloggers. Everything about this post. Go read it.

Bertie @ Luminosity Library wrote a great discussion post about letting queer characters be messy. I agreed with a bunch of points made in the post and it’s definitely worth a read.

  • June is the month for the National Speech tournament! It was all asynchronous this year, but it was still fun to compete. At least we only missed going to Iowa.
  • Guess who joined Netgalley??? Me!! I also got approved for an ARC!! Which is pretty zazzy. Shoutout to Saniya @ Sunny Side Reviews for helping me navigate this whole new world!
  • SIGNED AND PERSONALIZED COPY OF ONE LAST STOP, MY LIFE IS COMPLETE
  • I ordered so many books this month… it is such a problem. But yay for book mail!! And pretty bookshelves!
  • Loki! I will admit, the most recent episode was ehhhh, but overall I really like where this is all headed.
  • Fun fact about April: I am short. As in five-foot is a healthy round up. So when I tell you that my tbr is indeed taller than me, I am not kidding you in the least. With over 30 library books stacked on my bookshelf, if I wind up dead from mysterious circumstances one day, I have been eaten by the books. Feel free to avenge me as you see fit. 
  • I took a summer course that redefined the term “my mind is melting.” Let’s just say personal finance is not my favorite. I’m much more of a word girl (I know, totally shocking *glances at the book blog she constantly writes on*) Totally, 100% shocking indeed. 
  • I suck less at spikeball which is pretty cool. In case you don’t know, spikeball is basically a made up game where you bounce a ball on a net trampoline thing and then hit it and then do more stuff?? I’m not really sure on the specifics, but my friends and I have been playing a fairly decent amount this summer so I’m proud of sucking less. 
  • Beach day! It was fun until i realised my entire body was burnt to a crisp like a goddamned panini. I look like a lobster mixed with a flaming hot cheeto and am regretting all my life choices (namely not wearing sunscreen). Ugh.

Okey doke. I think that about covers my June. And with that, we are going to call this wrap up a wrap.

How was your June?? What was your favourite read?? Anything new and exciting happening??

21 thoughts on “June Wrap Up // basking in five star glory

  1. I will never understand how people can read more than 10 books in a month- Glad you enjoyed a lot of them! I loved reading your posts this month. Being burnt like a panini I can relate all too much. AHHHHHHHHH I CAN’T WAIT TO WATCH LOKI!! I keep trying to convince my family to watch it but my sister always says no… I’m just going to watch them on my own in my room with a bin of popcorn. I hope you have a great July!

    Like

  2. ahhh loved the wrap up April!! I’m so glad you read so many amazing books this month! and yeah the last episode of Loki was…..well anyways thank you so much for mentioning my post, it means a lot! And congratulations on getting a signed copy of one last stop! hope you have an amazing july!!

    Like

  3. ooh wow april so happy to hear that you had such an incredible reading month!! we can’t keep meeting like this is on my tbr and ooh so is the girls i’ve been! and ikr i was shocked to find out that daisy jones as fiction too haha… congrats on netgalley and your first ARC, have a lovely july ❤

    Like

  4. Hani and Ishu has been on my tbr for soo long, and I’m so happy you liked it! Same goes for Ace of Spades <33 LOL i totally understand that following a set tbr is hard. That's why I try doing seasonal ones instead. 😀 And omg my library books are also taller than me and the visual representation is starting to ~overwhelm~ me. Great post April!! I hope you have an amazing July!

    Like

Leave a comment