Monthly Wrap Ups

August Wrap Up // i’m so tired

If August could be described in one word, it would be tired. 

I’m so tired. Mentally, emotionally, physically. All of the above, tic tac toe three in a row, woot woot sleeeeeep. August just hasn’t been my month. 

I mean school. That is probably the biggest oddball thrown in there. It is an adjustment not only being in school (in comparison to the summer) but also to be in person with few to no restrictions other than masks. I mean, it’s not tons of work that I’m drowning in or anything. It’s all just… a lot. 

Lack of motivation isn’t helping either. So many times this month I came up with a good idea for a blog post or an instagram caption but my mind went lol no. Which was not helpful. Oh well, I still have a bulleted list of all my ideas, so maybe we can start anew with September. 

Bookwise, August was pretty solid. Felt a bit slump-ish (only a category 1 slump, nothing to be alarmed by) towards the end of July into August, but we managed to push past that with some audiobooks. Beyond that, reading month was pretty average. Quite a few rereads, basically a contemporary takeover (what’s else is new *insert guffaw*), and a whole lot of tears (for some reason I find books that make me cry oddly therapeutic??????). Let’s get into it. 

4.5 🌟 Fifteen Hundred Miles From the Sun by Jonny Garza Villa

the sun/moon parallels are my EVERYTHING

3 🌟 The Young Elites by Marie Lu

this book is what every emo tumblr kid in middle school thinks they were

4 🌟 The Passing Playbook by Isaac Fitzsimons

i cannot throw, catch, or run but this sports contemporary made me happy

3 🌟 Like a Love Song by Gabriela Martins

i have a deep respect for fun socks

4.5 🌟 If This Gets Out ARC by Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich

april: they wouldn’t do that??? WOULD THEY????? 

sophie and cale: *evil cackling*

3.5 🌟 The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

the internal brain conversations slapped

5 🌟 Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales (reread)

third times a charm!!

4 🌟 Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales (reread)

part 87 of romcoms making me cry 

5 🌟 A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder by Holly Jackson (reread)

reading the uk version is a whole different ~experience~ 

(wayyy better than Connecticut)

4.5 🌟 Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson

better than i remembered

3 🌟 Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas

eh

3.5 🌟 How To Be Remy Cameron by Julian Winters

i liked this one!

The first installment of the series fellow blogger and friend Rachel @ A Bookworms Paradice and I are working on! Check out how we thought it measured up! My half of the post can be found here and Rachel’s can be found here!

Guess who is back with a thoughts while reading post! (It’s me.) This book was not it, but writing this post made me feel a little bit better about it. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, sometimes writing a negative review is oddly theraputic. Check out the full post here!

I am obsessed with this book. That is the full statement. Add it to your tbr and prepare to be obsessed when it comes out in December. But for now, here is my review!

I’ve been putting off writing this post for a week at least, so we are just going to cut it short for today. Hopefully in the coming weeks I can fall into more of a rhythm at school and hopefully a blogging rhythm as well.

What was your favorite read this month? Anything new and exciting? Is there a post you wrote that you are particularly proud of??

14 thoughts on “August Wrap Up // i’m so tired

  1. perfect on paper is on my tbr and i’m so excited to read it this september! lovely wrap-up and i hope you have a wonderful september💓

    Like

  2. A good girl’s guide to murder has been on my TBR since so long, and I really want to read perfect on paper too! Sorry August wasn’t the best month for you, hope September treats you better! Loved your wrap up!

    Like

Leave a comment